New Discovery: Cricut Explore Air

A couple of weeks ago, my lovely mum introduced me to an amazing machine. It’s called the Cricut Explore Air. It is amazing. Seriously. You can cut, write, emboss, and print with this thing. Yeah.

IMG_0294

It took me until I saw it working, to understand how exactly it worked. It all sounded too good to be true. It basically works by having these sticky mats, which you stick your paper/card too (also cuts wood?!) and then it feeds into the machine and cuts or writes from the Cricut Design Space. I think the design space is the only thing I don’t like about the Cricut Explore Air. When I’m used to working with Adobe Illustrator, Design Space seems very limiting to what I can do. To be honest I don’t know the ins and outs of what it can do yet, but from the initial playing around, this was my first impression.

giphy

I borrowed the machine from my mum initially for a project I worked on for work (more in my next post!). It’s our 10th Birthday at Freebridge, and I wanted to do something a bit special with the design of the front cover of our tenant magazine, along with invitations. I’m so pleased with the overall look – but you’ll have to wait I’m afraid!

I still have a lot of learning to do – and to be honest I may even purchase one myself as it seems you can do quite a lot on one. I could make one off birthday cards, nets for boxes – the possibilities are endless. There is already a huge database of designs already on Design Space, some of which are free, others paid for. What do you think, is it worth the £260?

Creative Cowell x

Leave a Reply

