What I’ve learnt in 2015

IMG_0114

At this time of year I reflect on what kind of year I’ve had and what I have learnt. It’s been a rollercoaster of a year – changing my job (for the better), starting our wedding plans and taking a trip of a lifetime to Vietnam.

This year I have learnt that if you are unhappy, you are pretty much the only one that can change it. In February last year, my Grandad had a house fire, and I naturally wanted to help and make sure that he was okay. My previous manager was extremely un-sympathetic and that was the last straw in putting up with my work life there. At the end of the day, family comes first no matter how loyal to your job you are. That was the turning point where I thought ‘You know what, I know I’m better than this place’ – and that NEVER happens. I’d been stuck in a rut there for a long time and I have no self-confidence when it comes to my work (it’s getting better!), but I knew that I couldn’t stay there. So that was the first thing I learnt. Just a shame that it took a disaster in the family to make me realise it.

And because of my new job, I’ve learnt that I’m not actually a bad designer, if I do say so myself. Okay, so I’m not living it up in an agency in London, designing the next John Lewis advertising campaign, but I’m happy, and at the moment that’s enough.

Apparently we learnt/discovered that one cat just wasn’t enough. Solar came into our little family in May, much to Luna’s dismay (at first) but now they are the best of friends.

In September we set a date and booked a venue for our Wedding in 2016 – and it was great because now it feels REAL and I know it’s going to happen! Can’t believe it’s this year… still designing invitations…

IMG_0110

I learnt that ‘It’s too good to be true’ is absolute bollocks because I went on my free holiday that I won last year in October and it was brilliant. For mine an my fiance’s first proper holiday together, it weren’t half bad! And from this I will be carrying on doing my competitions! I’m aiming for a free honeymoon, who knows?

At the beginning of December I found my wedding dress – so that was another thing off the list!

So that was my year – how was yours?

Creative Cowell x

 

One thought on “What I’ve learnt in 2015

Leave a Reply

