Creative Christmas Cards

Another Christmassy post! So this year, it’s my first christmas at the housing association I work as a designer for. I got the lovely job of designing the christmas card that will be given out to all of the employees! I get quite excited when I get to do things like this, because there aren’t many things I get to do that are free reign, but having said that, having no brief can be quite tricky too. Also, I’ve never really posted about what I do at work, so I think this might be a nice little insight to that too.

I decided that I would try and do something hand drawn, and looked online for lots of inspiration before I started sketching some ideas out. I’ve always wanted to get really good at hand drawn typography and even give calligraphy a try, and I think doing this has motivated me to do some more because I’m rather chuffed with the outcome.

After lots of rubbing out, correcting, resizing letters etc, I had a final draft pencil drawing. This took me two days by the way… it’s just a good job I have the time at the moment!

IMG_0021

I penned in the pencil drawing; this was the bit I was most scared of incase I went wrong and had to start again. Luckily that didn’t happen, and even if it did, I was planning on taking it into illustrator afterwards so any little wiggly bits could be smoothed out.

IMG_0026

I used a Pilot V Sign Pen, which I think is my favourite pen now! I don’t really know much about what pens to use for this kind of thing so it was a bit of guess work on my part.

IMG_0036

This is going to be pinned on my desk wall by the way, I’m so proud of it.

So, next I took it into Illustrator. It took me nearly another day just to smooth out the vectors using the select tool, and to also resize some of the thickness of the lines and the letters so that it was a bit more consistent.

Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 16.20.52

…And then I used the 3D tool in illustrator – extrude and bevel. I don’t think I’ve used this since college, oops! I never had much luck with it and to be honest didn’t think i could remember what the controls were, but I think I did an alright job!

Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 16.21.22

I then made up a background in photoshop and then wallahhhhh! I even learnt how to make little twinkly stars! Youtube is brilliant for little tutorials for photoshop!

IMG_0039

Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 16.32.02

What do you think? I have also¬†realised this is the first creative thing, that I’ve created myself, to be posted on my blog for a long time. I really need to start doing more self-initiated projects.

Creative Cowell x

One thought on “Creative Christmas Cards

Leave a Reply

