It’s not how good you are…

… it’s how good you want to be!

According to Paul Arden anyway. This is a very inspirational book for creatives, nicely written in little bite sized chunks with lovely little photos. It has some great advice throughout, I’m sill making my way through it slowly!

DSC_0442

DSC_0443

DSC_0445

Originally in the post I was going to write all about this lovely little book. But instead it has led me to talk about something else. A little while a go I read an article about why our generation, Generation Y, expect so much out of life, and why we never feel as fulfilled as we want.

You can

We are brought up and told by our parents that ‘You can be whatever you want to be, if you work hard enough’ – which as we have grown up to discover, isn’t the case at all, for most of us. I found a similar article (I couldn’t find the original article unfortunately) here. The original spoke about how it was making our generation feel deflated, depressed and have a horrible sense of un-achievement, because we aren’t getting to where we were promised!

So even though I agree with Paul Arden’s book saying that great things can happen if you work hard enough and want it enough, there are however a very large majority of people that won’t get the job they want, the pay they want, the lifestyle that they have always dreamed of. Not everybody can be successful. I wouldn’t class myself in either one of these categories, I don’t see myself as unsuccessful and on the breadline, but I also don’t see myself as successful as I want to be some day. Success for me is owning my own business, a world famous ‘creative lifestyle’ blog and an income where I am comfortable. Not to say that will ever happen, but at the moment, for my age, I’m perfectly happy with where I am. Like most people, I have to save for big purchases and budget my money accordingly. I would expect nothing more at 23 years old.

Are you where you expected to be at the age you are? Do you feel like you aren’t achieving as much as you could?

Creative Cowell x

Leave a Reply

