Throwback Thursday #4

Venice City Break

May 2012 – 3 years ago

Traveling was something I always wanted to do and I never thought University would be the time I would start doing it. Having only been to Turkey and Lanzarote previously, I was eager to see what Italy had in store for me. It was a beautiful place to visit and felt that it was once of those places that you visit once (in my opinion).

The city has beautiful architecture. It just looks so lovely and unique with the canals flowing between the buildings.

DSCF0161

DSCF0165

 

We went for two days, which I thought was long enough. I got to see everything I wanted to see. We got cheap flights with Ryanair, with a 6.30am morning flight (I don’t think I went to bed that night there was no point…) and coming back quite late on the second day to maximise our time there.

DSCF0239

Everybody knows I hate water, so I’m pretty proud of the fact I went on one of the many gondolas, even though they were extortionate¬†prices! It didn’t help that there were three of us so it tipped slightly towards the water on my side.

One of my favourite parts of the trip was taking a Trageti (water taxi) over to Lido, which we found out had a beach. It was beautiful weather while we were there so we made the most of the sunshine for a while and took a load off! It had been hectic up to this point. We decided to take a longer way back to the coaches where we would need to get back to the airport, so got off the Trageti at a different point and walked all the way back through the winding streets of the city (it was a pretty long way).

DSCF0283

DSCF0205

If you ever get the chance to go on a short break like this – take it. Sometimes I think I’d rather have three breaks like this a year and see the world rather than one big blowout holiday every year. But then I’m reminded of the fact you don’t actually relax on a city break…

Italy is a thumbs up from me and I’ll definitely be going back at some point in the future to see what else it has to offer.

Creative Cowell x

Leave a Reply

