Limited Edition

This was quite a straight forward brief… well if you wanted to make it straight forward that is.

We were told to bring in a newspaper article from preferably a broadsheet newspaper. I took in one that had something to do with how research has found that noises such as nails on a chalkboard (shudder!), are too high pitch for our ears to handle which is why they give us the reaction that they do. Once we had got to the lesson, we were told to pass our article on the the person on our right, and I ended up with an article about Miss World, the beauty pageant. I wasn’t really happy with this at first, but I’ve been persuaded to go with it since.

So the task was to create six limited edition posters that show your opinions on the article, using printmaking techniques only. Naturally I was quite excited, as I always am at the start of a new project, and was looking forward to flaunting my printmaking skills!

I decided to do mine typographic, and in the style of a lot of design manifestos and magazine spreads I had seen. The main inspiration came from Studio8, with there edition for a Polish Magazine, Futu.

Firstly I designed mine digitally. Using phrases to express my opinion in a few words.

I decided doing it A2 would be quite a decent size. I also decided to do a lino cut print, that I only finished yesterday, it has taken me a whole week to do! But today I finally got to print it! Honestly? I was really scared. Mostly because I was afraid that it wasn’t going to turn out how I had pictured it in my head, which I guess you shouldn’t do with printmaking anyway.

Here’s me in the print room with my lino! I was pretty pleased with the amount of comments I got off of people who were just passing by. I’ve also been asked to do an extra print for the print technician to put up on the wall, so yes, very happy!

As you can see there are a few mistake where I slipped with the cutting tool, but I’m pleased to say on the print that you don’t really notice. It adds to the print effect I guess ๐Ÿ™‚ These were some test prints that I just printed on newsprint.

Slightly flushed in the picture, using the press was taking it out of me! I hadn’t even started my final prints by this point. But these below are a sneak peak at what some of the finals look like, I pick them up tomorrow once they are dry!

This is definitely my favourite thing that I’ve created since being at University so far! Let me know what you think!

3 thoughts on “Limited Edition

  1. Leora says:

    Great review! You actually covered some interesting things on your blog. I came across it by using Yahoo and Iโ€™ve got to admit that I already subscribed to the site, will be following you on my iphone ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

